The Employment Security Department’s Workforce Monitoring Unit (ESD Monitoring Unit) monitors local Workforce Development Boards and Employment Security staff, as each contract for or directly provide federally funded workforce and training services. These services assist both employers and job seekers. In addition, the ESD Monitoring Unit validates that the information reported into the state management-information system is accurate.

The ESD Monitoring Unit focuses its monitoring review on Local Workforce Development Boards’ WIOA Title I Formula grants received from ESD. This process fulfills ESD’s compliance-monitoring requirements under 2 CFR part 200 and satisfies Section 184 (a)(4) of WIOA, which require states to conduct an annual onsite monitoring of each local area. In addition, the unit monitors ESD in its provision of the Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) and Trade Readjustment Allowance (TRA) programs’ services.

Members of the ESD Monitoring Unit believe in honesty, integrity, clear communication, active listening, problem solving and assuming good intent. They apply these interpersonal skills in all of their monitoring activities.

 
Contact information

Workforce Monitoring email address: workforcemonitoring@esd.wa.gov

Greg Ferland – Director of Workforce Monitoring – 360-890-3443 gferland@esd.wa.gov

Maria Cheeseman  Workforce Monitor  360-972-0530 mcheeseman@esd.wa.gov 

Diana Cook  Workforce Monitor – 360-890-3445 dcook@esd.wa.gov

Phouang Hamilton  Workforce Monitor – 360-890-3446 phamilton@esd.wa.gov

Siri Olson  Workforce Monitor  509-505-7458 solson@esd.wa.gov 

Brooke Zielinski  Workforce Monitor – 360-819-0187 bzielinski@esd.wa.gov

Linda Brooks  Internal Audit/Monitoring Assistant  564-999-6763 lbrooks@esd.wa.gov